Weekly Photo Challenge: Masterpiece

I’d intended to do this post as such but when I saw this week’s challenge I thought that it would be appropriate to set it here. A little story first.

I remember, as a kid I loved to sit on my dad’s lap and ask him to draw me pictures of anything and everything that came to my mind. A bird, a house, an elephant, a tiger, a horse, I would demand and he would just pull a few lines on the paper and lo! it would be there. The tradition was carried on by my brother, and later by our children. Apart from that we never saw him indulge in any kind of art work. He is an engineer by profession and spent his life with machines . For us he was a genius with maths and physics and chemistry and with his help all our problems in these subjects seemed to vanish.

Then, he retired. He spent the initial years of his retirement settling down in this new way of life. One day he picked up his pencils and colours and started sketching and painting. His paintings surprised and shocked us. He does not yet paint from his imagination but just picks up an idea from a book, magazine or a  postcard and paints on any surface that takes his fancy or is available at that time, like paper, canvas, plywood board or even tiles.But for us they are nothing short of Masterpieces-

IMG_0166

 

IMG_0335

 

IMG_0339

 

IMG_0519

 

IMG_0632These are sketches of my daughter and my nephew

IMG_0622

 

IMG_0343

 

IMG_0515

 

IMG_0701

 

IMG_0708

10 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Masterpiece

  1. Hello there!
    Just wanted to stop by and say I nominated you for the Super Sweet Blog Award!
    Also wrote something under your blog link to say thanks🙂
    I hope you like it!
    – Thay

  2. First of all, I love the story. Secondly, I love the paintings, especially the last one. Finally, I love the relationship you obviously have with your dad. What a lovely post!

      • Me too🙂. At my day’s funeral a woman who worked for him told me that he always takes about me and KI was clearly his favorite. I have 4 brothers and my dad NEVER showed favoritism so,her comment was really precious to me. It was 20 years ago and I still remember the moment. Hang on to your dad as long as you can. I lost mine very young. Still have him in my heart tho🙂

  3. Awesome paintings….So proud of you Uncle…We have always looked up to you uncle as a great personality but this part of your persona is really unkown to us….Great going …Keep it up..

    Love
    Shweta

Leave a Reply

