Travel Theme: Peaceful

When I saw this last week’s travel theme, ‘Peaceful’ the pictures that came to my mind were those taken in Ladakh. I know, I’ve done a lot of posts with a lot of pictures from that place but I just can’t seem to get over that place. The pictures that I post here are taken during our visit to the Diksit monastery. The route, and the place itself made you feel at peace- with the world and with your self.

leh 467The white sand desert of Nubra valley in Ladakh.

leh 490The monastery is built into the slope of a hill, hence the climb..

leh 470The giant statue of Buddha on the hill opposite to the monastery..

leh 492The monks’ quarters

leh 491The bells

leh 503In deep contemplation!!

leh 513The Buddha!!

leh 544

 

P.S. have used some of these pictures in my earlier posts also but I thought they fit here just fine…

4 thoughts on “Travel Theme: Peaceful

  1. Awesome! And thank you for saying you had used some of the photos before because I was like, this seems familiar and I looked at the post date and was like, no, this is new. Okay, I get it now!!! That Budda, on top of the hill, my gosh that is one big Budda!!! Isn’t it wonderful when you find that place that makes you feel so at peace. Enjoy it over and over and over again!!!!🙂

    • I had to mention that. That place was so amazing in so many ways that I can’t get enough of it. And when I travelled through those mountains, I felt so much in awe, so insignificant. There I felt at peace with the world, with life. Difficult to express!! In our ancient religious texts it is mentioned that sages retired to the Himalayas, for deep yogic meditation for the betterment of the world. People believe that even now there maybe sages living in deep unreachable caves of these mountains having attained immortality due to their yogic powers, in deep meditation..🙂

    • It is indeed!! Its one of the most beautifully serene places I’ve been to. Only hope that too much commercialization does not rob the place of its beauty!!

Leave a Reply

