Weekly Photo Challenge: Pattern

A very interesting challenge this week : Pattern. Patterns are everywhere around us. Nature shows off her patterns everywhere; in plants and in animals. Man created patterns, sometimes plagiarizing nature itself. Today I share with you two patterns that are an intricate part of our lives… or should I say our wardrobe.

These are two very famous styles of Tie-dye patterns of Rajasthan.

The first one is called the ‘Bandhani’ or ‘Bandhej’

IMG_0499A saree in this pattern is a must in every bride’s trousseau.

The second pattern is called ‘the Laheriya’. “Laher” in Hindi means waves and that’s how this print in tie-dye looks.

IMG_0496Sarees in this pattern is a favorite of women, specially during the festivals of the Monsoon(rainy) season.

4 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Pattern

  1. Beautiful! I love going to fabric stores, all the colors, all the textures, all the patterns! I can easily imagine how beautiful a fabric store would be in India! Thanks for another lesson!🙂

    • Thanks!! This post was put together in a hurry!! Last ten days I was visiting my parents and all my pictures were here at home. As always I was peeking in my mom’s wardrobe, and that’s where I got the idea.🙂

Leave a Reply

