Hopey New Year

No, you aren’t reading it wrong!! Today, is the last day of the year. Normally, I’m planning to go out partying with friends, deciding what to wear, where to meet up, etc. But this year somehow that new year cheer is absent. The incidents of last few days have left me shaken up. During the last 15 days I wrote two or three posts that are lying in their respective folders. I’ve been unable to post them because I felt that no words  of mine could fully do justice to all that I feel after that heinous crime against that young girl in Delhi.

A young ordinary girl, who had simple dreams for her life, was savagely brutalized. A young life snuffed out. But what made me happy was the way the common people have taken up her cause, taken up the fight for justice. I’ve always been very skeptical about the people of my country. They’ve seemed to have very short memories, in the past. Surely, this isn’t the first case where a woman’s honour and her right to live with dignity has been brutalised? But once the hub-hub of the case died down, they forgot all about them and went back to their lives. But this time, I’ve been pleasantly surprised. The people aren’t letting up, not even with all the attempts to put down the protests, by our insensitive politicians in the parliament and elsewhere in the country. In fact, they are the ones who have shamed me the most. Shamed, because I’ve been party to electing them.

So I usher in this new year with great hope, despite the sadness in my heart. I hope that the un-named girl and all the other girls/women who have suffered the brutality on their bodies and minds, get the justice they deserve, swiftly. I hope we grow into a nation who is more sensitive towards their women-folk. I hope that our politicians and lawmakers will treat  the people, protesting for a just cause, as the citizens of this country who elected them to power and not as terrorists. I hope that we become a nation where a girl will be safe in the womb AND outside it. I hope that my daughter will be safe in this country.

Hopey New Year to everyone!!

Some links about the incident

wikipedia

hindustan times

reuters

the hindu

the guardian

Nilanjana roy

going bananas

 

10 thoughts on “Hopey New Year

  1. Hema I hope every single one of your wishes comes true, in India and around the world. What a wonderful world that would be!🙂 Hopey New Year to you my friend!

  2. Hi Hema. I can well understand why you are feeling so bad after what happened in your country. All the more so, if it reflects certain faults within the society itself. As we progress and grow as societies, we often find ourselves dealing with a paradox. There seems to be terrible fault lines between the previous standards, and the new ones. Often, advances in some fields, will leave people especially backward in others. In a tragedy such as this last one, we are seeing what the weakest element of the society is capable of doing… but it is really a problem of all of the society. And there is no advantage to being insistent and stubborn about how people ‘should behave’. When we look at other countries, we usually notice what they have that looks good to us; that we would like to emulate. But very often, under the surface, there are similar problems that are not easily solved. I am thinking of the US, and the mass murder of children in their school. At the other end of the world, and in a country that is progressive and modern… yet still struggling with some terrible problems.

    • Hi Shimon! you’ve hit the nail bang on the head! here we are, supposedly a growing economic power, moving into the 21st century but the position of women in our highly patriarchal society is still in the dark ages. The society (read-men) have been unable to deal with a more stronger and independent women and so keep trying to “put them in place”. And something so deeply ingrained into the psyche is difficult to wish away. Change will happen but it will take time and will not happen easily… thanks so much for your thoughts!!

Leave a Reply

