Weekly Photo Challenge: Geometry

Its Diwali time and all of us are busy preparing our homes and ourselves for the festivities. And when Diwali is on everybody’s mind here, the word ‘Geometry’ can bring only one thing to mind and that is- ” A Rangoli”

A Rangoli is the colourful design drawn on the floor of the house, usually at the entrance, as a sign of welcome, not just for the guests but for the Gods and Goddesses who come visiting the people during the festivals. Each region of my country has their own methods of creating one but geometry plays an important part in them all. They are prepared, mostly by using rice flour which is white and adding vegetable dyes to create coloured rice powder which is then used to create designs on the floor. Flowers are also used to create designs. 

design made by my daughter in Diwali 2010.

 

rangolis made by her last year

rangolis made with flowers for a puja

 

 

18 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Geometry

  1. Beautiful Rangolise. I remember how I used to watch my mom making them during a specific month of the year. And since my childhood I always enjoy seeing them. I have even tried my hand few times, but as you can guess I am a really bad artist. So every time I tried to make something with these colors, I ended up making something else.🙂

  2. FASCINATING! VERY VERY FASCINATING! It’s so so nice to learn about other cultures. THANK YOU so much for the share. This post is one for the gold. You really learn something everyday … from the blogosphere.

      • I agree with you. I’ve myself learnt so much about other places, countries, cultures and people. Many myths have been broken, and it’s all fun. Rangolis are really beautiful. People create masterpieces with this medium and Diwali time the entrances of all homes are done up, in fact, it sometimes becomes a great get-together with everyone making rangolis and a bit of competition creeps in.🙂🙂

  3. I feel like I’ve seen this page before on , but upon taking a little time on here it’s clear that this is a new web page.
    In any case, I’m quite pleased I found it and I’ll add it to my
    bookmarks to check back often.

  4. I found your blog on http://hemadamani.wordpress.

    com/2012/11/03/weekly-photo-challenge-geometry/ and I’m very grateful I have. I feel as though you’re reading my mind right now.
    You come across as knowing a great deal regarding
    this, like you authored the book on it or something. I think that you can do with a
    few pics to drive the message home a bit, but other than that, this
    is great blog. I will certainly come back.

Leave a Reply

