A mornings’ Tale

     Listen to the exhortation of the Dawn!

Look to this day, for it is Life, the very Life of Life.

In its brief course lie all the verities and realities of your Existence.

The Bliss of Growth, the Glory of Action, the Splendor of Beauty.

For yesterday is but a Dream, and tomorrow is only a Vision;

but Today well lived

makes yesterday a Dream of Happiness and every tomorrow a Vision of Hope.

Look well therefore to this Day!

Such is the Salutation of the Dawn.

                                                                                           Kalidasa

Beautiful words, aren’t they? Make you wanna go all philosophical and write about all things beautiful and positive about the mornings- how its a  new beginning, brings new hope and blah and blah and blah. That’s the general direction my thoughts were taking when I read the quote and decided to do a post about it. But midway, my thoughts were hijacked by my not so philosophical part of the brain, towards a totally new direction and what that resulted in was this-

I love mornings. In fact, I’m basically a morning person- not the 4:30am  morning person but a 6:00am morning person. Mornings mean, sending my daughter off to school(something that will soon end), drinking my lime and honey in hot water while skimming through the newspaper, mentally noting the news I have to later read in detail and then its time for a round of workouts, beginning with a jog.

When I first began jogging, I would go up to the terrace of my building for the run. I loved to see the sun rise, the birds making their way across the skies in large flocks, to hear the tolling of bells from a nearby temple and later the sound of a band playing march-past tunes(my apartment building is near police headquarters and parade ground). It was a great way to start the day. But after about a year a pair of eagles decided to nest in a tree near the building and they took offence to my jogging in what I suppose they believed was their territory and I was unceremoniously shooed out by a series of aerial attacks displaying their beaks and talons.

I then tried jogging on the treadmill at the neighborhood gym. It was great as far as burning calories was concerned, but I missed the outdoors.

A few months later I discovered that a monument near my home had opened its gates and the walkways of its gardens for morning walkers. Delighted I made a beeline for the place only to discover that I was the only female jogger surrounded by a whole lot of male starers and of course other female walkers too. I couldn’t and still can’t understand what is so amazing or intriguing about seeing a female(who is also appropriately clad in full-length tracks and tees) jog. 

People at times stopped midway between what they were doing- which included, apart from walking, doing push-ups or squats, even an Anulom-Vilom or Kapalbhati Pranayam- just to stare as if I had just landed from Mars- or Venus if you please.But being the stubborn bull-head that i am ,specially in such situations, I continued my daily jogs,pointedly ignoring all the stares.

My luck didn’t last long here either and after a few months the management decided to close its doors to the public for some renovations. I personally believe that they were miffed that I was getting more attention than the monument, hence the action.

So once again I was rendered jogging-trackless. I gave a fleeting thought to, going to the parade ground and using a quiet corner for my runs but the images of shorts and ganji clad policemen doing their daily drills, sensibly, made me give up THAT idea.

Finally I had to resign myself to the lobby of my floor which is a reasonably okay place for me to jog. Its large enough and ogle-free. I get my dose of fresh air and can see the sun rise without having to protect myself from aerial attacks. Guess it will have to do till I find a better place that fits in with all my preconditions. Ciao…

note-the pictures here all are my daughter’s work.

10 thoughts on “A mornings’ Tale

  1. I’m too a morning person- not the 6:00am morning person but a 8:00am morning person.🙂 As you can guess, It’s really hard for me to get a view of sun rise. So thanks a lot for sharing these beautiful pictures. Your daughter did a great job, taking these pictures.Great work!

    • thanks a ton arindam. My daughter will be really happy to hear!🙂 and i wanted to share a dream for your book but before i could get down to it i saw that all the dreams were already taken..Tch!🙂

  2. Pingback: A morning’s Tale-2 | hemadamani

Leave a Reply

