Brigitte's Banter

I read an article a few weeks ago from the New York Times, My Life Sentences by Jhumpa Lahiri.  The Pulitzer Prize-winning author (whom I’ve never read but intend to now) writes about her experiences as a writer.  She does so beautifully.

The article is about how words have affected her; the weight of them and how stringing them together results in making one feel.  You know what I mean.  When you read something and you have to stop, just take it in.  I’ve read books, where if I’m not alone, I’ll read a passage out loud — make someone listen because it’s JUST. SO. GREAT.

I’ve bookmarked pages in my books with those little colorful tab thingys and or highlighted sentences.  Or I’ll find a gorgeous word that I don’t know the meaning of or haven’t heard for a while and jot that down in a notebook I…

View original post 559 more words

Leave a Reply

