LET THERE BE LIGHT

It happened this Tuesday night. We(meaning my husband and me) were away and our daughter was ‘Home Alone’. BTW she’s 17 so that’s not such a big thing really. In fact, that’s usually the norm. She hates to go anywhere out with us unless its for Pizza, a movie or a trip to the mall. We were on our way back when we received a call from her informing us that there has been a power failure in our area of the city. That got me a tad bit worried. Why?  YOU would ask. There was no worry about her safety as we live in a multi-storey building and all the neighbors on our floor are very nice and friendly.

The reason was that we live in Gujarat, one of the few states in our country that’s power surplus. That means we very rarely face a power failure. As a result, my daughter, ever since she was a little girl has been afraid of power failures (Power failures and not necessarily the dark as she sleeps with all lights turned off). As she grew older she would try to put up a brave face whenever such a situation arose but I knew the fear was there as she would hover around me, touch me on some pretext or the other.

But this Tuesday she was all alone and I knew she would not be enjoying the situation she was in. So I urged my husband to drive faster and on reaching home I nearly ran up the 8 floors to our apartment( no electricity,remember? so no elevators). The sight that greeted me on reaching home was wondrous. Our whole home was lighted up. She had used every candle, every earthen lamp,she could lay hands on and lit them up. My home seemed to be celebrating an early Diwali.

12 thoughts on “LET THERE BE LIGHT

  1. Tremendous!! That’s the way she’s learning. Not to be afraid and yes, light up the light in darkness. So should we behave in our troublesome times. I ws greatly touched while reading this Hema. Thank u.

  2. Thanks called grown up but brave kid… Kudos to Chhavi….!! She turn terrible situation to a one really enriching moment by lighting all corners..

Leave a Reply

