A LETTER TO MY DAUGHTER

My sweet Baby,

I know you don’t like me to call you a baby anymore but you are and always will be my baby no matter how old you get. I’m writing this letter because there are so many things I want you to know but am unable to tell you when we are together. Things that are lost in our trivial chatter. We talk about so many things and yet I fail to say the most important thing there is and that’s ‘I LOVE YOU’. Yes, I’ve said it many times to you, when you were happy or sad or when putting you to bed or just like that.. but I want you to know that I love you even when I don’t say it and everything between you and me, the hugs and kisses, the anger, the over-protectiveness, everything stems from this single emotion.

The moment I held you in my arms, was the most beautiful moment of my life. A tiny life, a part of my flesh and blood and a piece of my soul had been placed in my hands to cherish and care for, to keep safe from all the hurts, pains and trials of life. And that scared me, really scared me to the core of my being.

So if I have seemed to you to be over- cautious, over-protective, intrusive or even domineering, its because I don’t want you to get hurt ever-physically or emotionally. Emotionally more because I know how sensitive a person you are. You trust people easily and open your heart fully to them and leave yourself vulnerable to hurt, when expectations are not met with. I know this is part of growing up, part of life and learning and will make you wiser but it horrifies me to see you in pain and makes me want to shield you from it.

Coming back to us, we share beautiful moments together and yet there are times when there is a certain drift between us. That could be because you are growing up and want to assert your individuality, you don’t like to be dictated or told what’s ‘good for you’ and so an invisible wall is created between us, that I would like to tear down. I would like you to trust me completely with your feelings, dilemmas and hope that you are able to share your innermost thoughts with me.

I have not been the best of parent at all times and have made my fair share of mistakes. At times I may have seemed aloof to you or occupied with my own world or maybe even selfish, but believe me it was never intentional or meant to hurt you in any way. It’s just that as a person I have my own wishes, dreams and insecurities. Insecurities as in, I feel time flying away, slipping between my fingers. There are many things I’m already too old to do but there are many things I would like to do before I get older. I would like to live my life as fully as possible and in a way that would make you proud to be my daughter.

And this is what I want for you and from you—to LIVE your life.

Be HAPPY and remember it’s not a crime to think of your happiness, only it should not be at the expense of anyone else’s happiness. Feel the grace of God within you and you’ll find happiness everywhere and in every little thing around you.

Do away with anger. People are not going to be what you want them to be. So change your attitude towards them. Don’t let anyone control your emotions, coz if you decide not to be angry no one can make you and in calmness you’ll find peace and clarity of thought.

DREAM-dream big. Follow your dreams and never give up on them. And always believe that god has the best plan for you. If something doesn’t seem right NOW then maybe God has other better plan for you.

And that brings me to Faith. Have faith in the supreme power. But also have faith in yourself. You are one unique person, an individual with your own personality. Believe in yourself and make it your strength. Face your fears and you will come out a stronger person.

Now that you are on the threshold of adulthood, like a young bird spreading its wings for the flight beyond its nest, I wish you the sun, the moon and the stars. Reach out for them and the world will be yours.

And lastly I want you to know that you make me proud. You have enriched my life in ways beyond explanation.

Love you always.

Ma

5 thoughts on “A LETTER TO MY DAUGHTER

  1. This is so heart warming, and in every sense the way I’d hope to feel whenever I am a mother someday. As of now, I am still seeking out the ventures and attempting to fulfill my goals but, becoming a mother later in my life would be the icing, my greatest contentment. Thank you for sharing! You’re daughter must be a wonderful person, this was truly beautiful and a pleasure to read. x

  2. Di… Its like you have poured your heart out here… Hope all gets well between you two… I understand the conflict… N trust me she loves you too… I’, happy that you are aware of everything…
    Must say that you are a wonderful mother who will go the extra miles to understand your daughter completely…! Kudos!

Leave a Reply

